Fees and Fiscal Information
Admission Application Fee
An individual who applies for admission to the University of Florida shall pay a non-refundable application fee of $35. While personal checks are accepted, the preferred method of payment is online with MasterCard, Visa or American Express credit card, which can be transmitted electronically on ONE.UF, the university's secure website. Credit card payments will have a $1.75 service fee added automatically to the $35 fee, for a total application fee of $36.75.
Back to Top
Admission Tuition Deposit
Pursuant to UF-3.0376(11) Regulations of the University of Florida, the $200 admission deposit paid by the individual shall be applied toward payment of that individual's tuition upon enrollment. The admission deposit shall not be reimbursed to an individual who does not enroll in the term offered for admission. The deposit is waived for those individuals who have provided documentation that they have received an application fee waiver because of economic need as determined by the College Board, American College Testing Program, Law School Admissions Council, the American Association of Medical Colleges Fee Assistance Program or the American Association of Dental Schools Application Service.
Back to Top
Registration and Tuition Fees Liability
Pursuant to Section UF-3.037(1) Regulations of the University of Florida, registration shall be defined as consisting of two components: a) formal enrollment in one or more credit courses approved and scheduled by the university; and b) fee payment, or other appropriate arrangements for fee payment (deferment or third-party billing) for the courses in which the student is enrolled as of the end of the drop/add period.
Registration must be completed on or before the date specified in the university calendar. Students are not authorized to attend class unless they are on the class roll or have been approved to audit. Unauthorized class attendance will result in fee liability.
Fee Liability: Pursuant to UF-3.037(2) Regulations of the University of Florida, a student is liable for all tuition fees associated with all courses for which the student is registered at the end of the drop/add period. The fee payment deadline is 3:30 p.m. on the second Friday after classes begin.
Back to Top
Assessment of Tuition Fees
Pursuant to UF-3.0375 Regulations of the University of Florida, tuition shall be assessed on residency, first enrolled term of the current degree, course level and program.
Students can calculate and pay their own tuition fees on the secure my.ufl.edu portal.
Students can estimate their tuition fees on the University Bursar website: www.fa.ufl.edu/bursar/current-students/.
Lack of written notification of the tuition fee debt does not negate the student’s responsibility to pay by the published deadline.
For purposes of discussion, the word term refers to the fall semester, the spring semester and any of the summer semesters. Definitions of first enrolled term of the current degree program are as follows (UF-3.0375 Regulations of the University of Florida).
- A first-time admitted and enrolled degree-seeking student registered for Fall 2016, Spring 2017 or Summer 2017 term.
- A UF graduate admitted to a new degree program or upon the student’s admission or readmission to a degree program requiring a new application for Fall 2016, Spring 2017 or Summer 2017 term.
- A former student who is readmitted for Fall 2016, Spring 2017 or Summer 2017 term after an absence of two or more consecutive terms, excluding military withdrawals.
- A non-degree seeking student.
- A first-time admitted and enrolled degree-seeking student registered for Fall 2015, Spring 2016 or Summer 2016 term.
- A UF graduate admitted to a new degree program or upon the student’s admission or readmission to a degree program requiring a new application for Fall 2015, Spring 2016 or Summer 2016 term.
- A former student who is readmitted for Fall 2015, Spring 2016 or Summer 2016 term after an absence of two or more consecutive terms.
- A first-time admitted and enrolled degree-seeking student registered for Fall 2014, Spring 2015 or Summer 2015 term.
- A UF graduate admitted to a new degree program or upon the student’s admission or readmission to a degree program requiring a new application for Fall 2014, Spring 2015 or Summer 2015 term.
- A former student who is readmitted for Fall 2014, Spring 2015 or Summer 2015 term after an absence of two or more consecutive terms.
- A first-time admitted and enrolled degree-seeking student registered for Fall 2013, Spring 2014 or Summer 2014 term.
- A UF graduate admitted to a new degree program or upon the student’s admission or readmission to a degree program requiring a new application for all 2013, Spring 2014 or Summer 2014 term.
- A former student who is readmitted for Fall 2013, Spring 2014 or Summer 2014 term after an absence of two or more consecutive terms.
Academic Year 2012-2013 and Prior Term Tuition Fee Criteria
Refer to UF-3.0375 Regulations of the University of Florida.
Back to Top
Assessment of Student Fees
Activity and Service Fee
All students must pay an activity and service fee that is assessed on a per credit-hour basis and is included in the basic rate per credit hour. (UF-3.0372 Regulations of the University of Florida)
All students must pay an athletic fee that is assessed on a per credit hour basis and is included in the basic rate per credit hour. Graduate research and teaching assistants enrolled for eight (8) or more credits during the fall or spring semesters and all other students enrolled for nine (9) or more credits (except students enrolled in a New World School of the Arts degree program and other students not required to pay the athletic fee) are eligible to purchase athletic tickets at the student rate. (UF-3.0372 Regulations of the University of Florida)
Tuition fees for audited courses are assessed at the applicable resident or non-resident cost as set forth in Regulation UF-3.0375. (UF-3.0376(18) Regulations of the University of Florida)
Diploma Replacement Fee
Each diploma ordered after a student’s initial degree application can result in a diploma replacement charge not to exceed $10. (UF-3.0376(13) Regulations of the University of Florida)
Distance Learning Fee
Online courses may be assessed a per credit hour amount. (1009.24 Florida Statutes)
All students must pay a health fee that is assessed on a per credit-hour basis and is included in the basic rate per credit hour. The health fee maintains the university’s Student Health Service and is not part of any health insurance a student may purchase. (UF-3.0372 Regulations of the University of Florida.)
Material and Supply and Equipment Use Fee
Material and supply fees are assessed for certain courses to offset the cost of materials or supply items consumed in the course of instruction. A list of approved courses and fees is published in the Schedule of Courses each semester. (UF-3.0374 Regulations of the University of Florida)
The equipment use fee program allows units to charge for courses that use equipment in the educational process, which is used to prepare students for their careers or professions and is used for instructional purposes only with direct use by students. Material and supply and equipment use fee information is available from the academic departments or from the schedule of courses (Florida Statutes 1009.24).
Off-campus Educational Activities
The president or the president’s designee will establish fees for off-campus course offerings when the location results in specific identifiable increased costs to the university. These fees will be in addition to the regular tuition and fees charged to students enrolling in these courses on campus. The additional fees charged are for the purpose of recovering the increased costs resulting from off campus vs. on campus offerings. As used herein, off campus refers to locations other than main campus, branch campuses and centers. (UF-3.0376(19) Regulations of the University of Florida)
Registration for Zero Credits
The student is assessed the applicable resident or non-resident cost as set forth in Regulation UF-3.0375, for one credit hour. (UF-3.0376(17) Regulations of the University of Florida)
All students must pay a technology fee that is assessed on a per credit-hour basis and is included in the basic rate per credit hour. (UF-3.3075 Regulations of the University of Florida)
An official transcript for current year registered undergraduate, graduate and professional students can be purchased for a fee of $6. Cost for a non-enrolled student and a student who has not been registered at the university for two or more terms is $12. The university releases only official transcripts. (UF-3.0376(12) Regulations of the University of Florida)
Transportation Access Fee
All students must pay a transportation access fee that is assessed on a per credit-hour basis and is included in the basic rate per credit hour. (UF-3.0372 Regulations of the University of Florida)
All charges may be subject to change without notice.
Back to Top
Repeat Course Fee
Beginning Fall 1997, any undergraduate course numbered 1000-4999 at the university for which a student registers three or more times will be subject to a repeat course fee at 100 percent of the full cost of instruction, calculated annually. Courses taken before Fall 1997 are excluded (Section 1009.285, Florida Statutes).
Excluded from the fee are individual study, courses numbered X900-X999, courses dropped or withdrawn without fee liability, approved participation in cooperative education courses, military science courses with prefixes AFR, MSL and NSC, and courses designed to take multiple semesters to complete.
All students, regardless of classification or residency status, will be assessed the fee in addition to the tuition costs per UF-3.0375 Regulations of the University of Florida.
Back to Top
Excess Hours Fee
Pursuant to Section 1009.286, Florida Statutes, an additional student payment for credit hours exceeding baccalaureate degree program completion requirements at state universities.
- For Fall 2012 and thereafter, an excess hour surcharge equal to 100 percent of the tuition rate for each credit hour in excess of 110 percent.
- For the 2011-12 academic year, an excess hour surcharge equal to 100 percent of the tuition rate for each credit hour in excess of 115 percent.
- For the 2009-10 and 2010-11 academic years, an excess hour surcharge equal to 50 percent of the tuition rate for each credit hour in excess of 120 percent.
All college credit hours count, including: courses failed, courses dropped after the end of drop/add, withdrawals, repeats and transfer credit earned at another institution.
The following credits do not count toward the surcharge: credits earned through an articulated accelerated mechanism such as AP, IB, AICE, or dual enrollment; withdrawals due to medical or personal hardship; credit hours required for certification, recertification or certificate programs; credit hours taken by active-duty military personnel; credit hours required to achieve a dual major that are not used in the primary major, providing both majors are earned simultaneously; remedial and English as a second language credit hours; credit hours earned through internships; and credit hours earned in military science courses that are part of the Reserve Officers' Training Corps (ROTC) program.
Back to Top
Payment of Tuition Fees
Tuition fees are payable on the dates listed in the academic calendar. Deadlines are enforced. Tuition fee payments are processed by University Bursar. Payments sent via U.S. mail must be received in the university cashier's office by the established fee payment deadline. An on time payment for the tuition deadline date is a receipt date, not a postmark date.
According to university policy, university cashiers will accept checks only for the amount due in payment of tuition fees, accounts receivable, loans and other student debts. Checks from foreign countries must be payable through a United States bank in U.S. dollars. The university can refuse two-party checks, altered checks and checks that will not photocopy. The university does not have the authority to waive late payment fees unless extraordinary circumstances warrant such a waiver or the university is primarily responsible for the delinquency.
Pay for tuition fees and other charges at my.ufl.edu.
Students making payments with a mobile device can also pay via m.ufl.edu.
Payment Options on myUFL
Back to Top
- Electronic check; there is no service charge for the electronic check payments.
- Credit cards: MasterCard, Discover, American Express, or Visa will include a 2.6 percent service charge for tuition fees and accounts receivable charges (e.g., laser print, library fines, parking decals, etc.).
- International Payment is a wire transfer; provides a competitive rate of exchange for many international currencies.
- In person payments: Check, money order, or cashier’s check. International paper checks or demand drafts must be drawn on a U.S. bank in U.S. dollars and amounts cannot be greater than the amount due. Any payment that is more than the amount due will not be refunded and will automatically be applied to a future debt.
- Cash and debit cards are not payment options.
Returned electronic checks or paper checks will be charged a service fee of $25 if the returned payment is less than $50; $30 if the returned payment is $50.01 - $299.99 and $40 if the returned payment is $300 or more. Payments for returned electronic check payments, returned paper checks and the returned service fee must be paid by money order or cashier’s check.
A $10 service fee will be charged if the bank information provided for the electronic check payment is inaccurate for electronic funds transfer. Payment for this type of return does not require a money order or a cashier’s check.
All financial obligations to the university will be applied on the basis of age of the debt. The oldest debt will be paid first.
Back to Top
Late Registration and Late Payment Fees
Late Registration Fee
Any student who fails to register prior to the late registration date published in the academic calendar will be subject to the late registration fee of $100. (UF-3.037(3) Regulations of the University of Florida)
Late Payment Fee
Any student who fails to pay all tuition fees due or to make appropriate arrangements for tuition fee payment (deferment or third party billing) by the fee payment deadline published in the academic calendar will be subject to a late payment fee of $100. (UF-3.037(4) Regulations of the University of Florida)
Waiver of Late Fees
A student who believes that a late fee should not be assessed because of university error or extraordinary circumstances that prevented all conceivable means of compliance by the deadline may petition for a waiver. Late registration fee: Office of the University Registrar; Late payment fee: University Bursar. The university reserves the right to require documentation to substantiate these circumstances.
Back to Top
Deferment of Tuition Fees
Deferment extends the deadline for payment of tuition fees for a specific term. A tuition fee deferment is granted based on information from Student Financial Affairs (financial aid deferments) or the Office of the University Registrar (veterans). Refer questions on eligibility to the appropriate office. A tuition fee deferment must be established by the tuition fee payment deadline for each term. A tuition fee deferment is provided to students in the following circumstances:
- Students receiving benefits from state or federal financial assistance programs (1009.27, Florida Statutes).
- Students receiving veterans or other educational benefits under Chapter 30, Chapter 31, Chapter 32, Chapter 33, Chapter 34, Chapter 35, Chapter 1606 or Chapter 1607 of Title 38 U.S.C.; or
- Students for whom formal arrangements have been made with the university for payment by an acceptable third-party sponsor.
A $100 late payment fee will be assessed if a student fails to pay all tuition fees due by the deferment deadline.
Back to Top
Waiver or Exemption of Tuition Fees
UF may waive tuition fees as follows:
- Any dependent child of a special risk member killed in the line of duty, per Sections 112.19 and 112.191, Florida Statutes.
- Certain members of active Florida National Guard are entitled to a waiver of tuition fees pursuant to Section 250.10, Florida Statutes.
- A student enrolled through the Florida Linkage Institutes Program is entitled to a waiver of the non-resident tuition fees pursuant to Section 288.8175(6), Florida Statutes.
- Intern supervisors for institutions within the State University System may be given one non-transferable certificate (fee waiver) for each full academic term during which the person serves as an intern supervisor, pursuant to 1009.26, Florida Statutes.
- Persons 60 years of age or older who are Florida residents, as provided by Chapter 1009.26, Florida Statutes.
- A student who is or was at the time he or she reached 18 years of age in the custody of the Department of Children and Families or who, after spending at least 6 months in the custody of the department after reaching 16 years of age, was placed in a guardianship by the court. Or a student who is or was at the time he or she reached 18 years of age in the custody of a relative or nonrelative under s. 39.5085 or who was adopted from the Department of Children and Families after May 5, 1997, pursuant to Chapter 1009.25, Florida Statutes.
- Florida resident who lacks a fixed, regular, and adequate nighttime residence, whose primary nighttime residence is a public or private shelter designed to provide temporary residence for individuals intended to be institutionalized, or a public or private place not designed for, or ordinarily used as, a regular sleeping accommodation for human beings, pursuant to Chapter 1009.25, Florida Statutes.
- Non-Florida resident fee for students who attended a secondary school in this state for 3 consecutive years immediately before graduating from a high school in this state;
apply for enrollment in an institution of higher education within 24 months after high school graduation; and submit an official Florida high school transcript as evidence of attendance and graduation, as provided by Chapter 1009.26, Florida Statutes.
- Non-Florida resident fee for Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA) and undocumented students who attended a secondary school in this state for 3 consecutive years immediately before graduating from a high school in this state; apply for enrollment in an institution of higher education within 24 months after high school graduation; and submit an official Florida high school transcript as evidence of attendance and graduation, as provided by Chapter 1009.26, Florida Statutes.
The non-Florida student financial aid fee may not be waived for students receiving an out-of-state tuition fee waiver.
Back to Top
Non-payment of Tuition Fees
The university shall temporarily suspend further academic progress of any student who has not satisfied the entire balance of his or her fee liability by the established deadlines. This will be accomplished by placing a financial hold on the student’s record, which will prevent the student from receiving grades, transcripts and/or diploma, and the student’s registration will be denied for future terms until the account has been satisfied. (UF-3.037 Regulations of the University of Florida)
Students who have not paid any portion of their tuition fee liability by the established university payment deadline will continue to be held fee liable for these courses, but will not be allowed to attend these courses until payment is made in full and the student has been re-registered.
To re-register for courses, students must submit a Re-Enrollment Request form to the Office of the University Registrar. Students who re-register after being withdrawn for non-payment of tuition fees will be subject to both late registration and late payment fees.
Back to Top
Refund of Tuition Fees
The following circumstances may constitute a tuition fees refund:
- If notice of withdrawal from the University is approved prior to the end of the drop/add period and written documentation is received from the student
- Credits dropped during drop/add period
- Courses cancelled by the university
- Call to active military duty
- Death of the student or member of the immediate family (parent, spouse, child, sibling)
- Illness of the student of such severity or duration, as confirmed in writing by a physician, that completion of the semester is precluded
- Exceptional circumstances, upon approval of the university president or his designee
A refund of 25 percent of the total fees paid (less late fees) is available for withdrawal of enrollment from the university prior to the deadlines listed in the academic calendar.
Refunds are issued by University Bursar and will be applied against any university debts. The university reserves the right to set minimum amounts for which refunds will be produced for overpayments on student accounts.
Tuition refunds due to cancellation, withdrawal or termination of attendance for students receiving financial aid will first be refunded to the appropriate financial aid programs. If the student is a recipient of federal financial aid, such as Grad Plus Loan, Pell Grant, TEACH Grant, Supplemental Educational Opportunity Grant (SEOG), Perkins Loan, Federal Direct Stafford Loans or PLUS loans, federal rules require that any unearned portion of the federal aid must be returned to the U.S. Department of Education.
The amount the student has earned is based on the number of days the student attended classes as compared to the number of days in the entire term (first day of classes to the end of finals week). Any remaining refund then will be returned according to university policy.
Deadlines are enforced. The university does not have the authority to waive late payment fees unless extraordinary circumstances warrant such waiver or the university is primarily responsible for the delinquency.
Back to Top
Florida Prepaid Tuition College Program
The Florida Prepaid College Program is a state of Florida administered program that provides Florida families affordable means to save for their children's future college education.
At the University of Florida, students with a Florida Prepaid account will not have to show their Florida Prepaid documentation. University Bursar works directly from an electronic file provided by the Florida Prepaid College Program. University Bursar matches that file to the names and social security numbers of enrolled UF students to determine eligibility and available credits that can be billed to the program. If Prepaid is not showing on the student’s my.ufl.edu record the first week of classes, contact the University Bursar at 352.392.9545.
University Bursar automatically will bill the Florida Prepaid Program for the tuition and applicable fees of eligible students. The program will be billed each term that a student is registered at UF and continues to have credits available.
Florida Prepaid Program has a variety of plans. However, no plan pays 100 percent of tuition and fees. Listed below are fees that are not covered by a prepaid plan and must be paid by the fee payment deadline each term to avoid assessment of a $100 late payment fee:
Back to Top
- Distance learning fees
- Equipment fees
- Excess credit hour surcharge fees
- Late payment fees
- Late registration fees
- Material and supply fees
- Repeat course surcharge
- Transportation access fees
- Test fees
- Technology fees
Opting out of Florida Prepaid
Eligible students can choose to decline the use of the prepaid plan online for a fall or spring term.
Opt out of Florida Prepaid at my.ufl.edu
Fall and Spring Terms
The option to opt out online for the current term (fall or spring) must be completed prior to the fee payment deadline for that term. The online opt out option is not available on the fee payment deadline day; therefore, students choosing to opt out on the deadline day or those who need to cancel an online selection must contact the University Bursar at 352.392.9545 or firstname.lastname@example.org.
Students must opt out each term they decline to use their prepaid plan. Only one academic year will be available online to opt out any given time.
Back to Top
Students who decline use of their prepaid plan for a summer session must contact the University Bursar at 352.392.9545 or email@example.com before the fee payment deadline to opt out of that summer session.
Florida Prepaid and Financial Aid
Students participating in the Florida Prepaid College Program who are also expecting to receive financial aid (i.e., Bright Futures, Pell, student loans, other scholarships/grants) will have the Florida Prepaid applied first to tuition and applicable fees. Financial aid received will be disbursed and applied to outstanding charges, which may include tuition and fees not covered by the program. Any excess financial aid that remains after debts have been paid will be refunded to the student (student/parent if PLUS Parent loan).
Back to Top
Study Abroad Programs and Distance Learning
Students participating in any study abroad program or receiving instruction through flexible learning, also can bill the Florida Prepaid College Program.
Students must contact the following departments for assistance with billing the prepaid program:
Study Abroad Programs
UF International Center, Study Abroad Services
170 HUB Stadium Road
Gainesville, FL 32611
Flexible Learning Courses
2124 NE Waldo Road, Suite 1101
Gainesville, FL 32609
Additional questions regarding the UF Florida Prepaid billing process?
Call University Bursar at 352.392.9545 or firstname.lastname@example.org
Questions about the Florida Prepaid Program?
Back to Top
Call 1.800.552.4723 (552.GRAD)
General Fiscal Information
Students can pay at my.ufl.edu the exact amount of tuition fees and/or other amounts owed the university. The online payment system accepts the following payment methods: American Express, MasterCard, Discover, or Visa credit cards and electronic checks from checking and international payments via wire transfer.
Students can also pay at the University Bursar office with personal checks, cashier’s checks and money orders, which can be placed in the 24-hour drop box located outside 113 Criser Hall. Payments on all financial obligations to the university will be applied on the basis of age of the debt. The oldest debt will be paid first.
University Bursar is not able to accept cash or debit card payments and does not cash checks or make cash refunds.
It is the student’s responsibility to maintain a correct current address in the UF directory.
Address changes should be made online at my.ufl.edu.
Past-Due Student Accounts: All student accounts are payable at the University Bursar office or on my.ufl.edu at the time such charges are incurred. Graduating students with outstanding financial obligations will have a hold placed on their records withholding release of a diploma, transcript and other university services until the debt is satisfied.
University regulations prohibit the following for any student whose account with the university is delinquent until the debt has been satisfied:
- Release of transcript, diploma, grades or schedules
- The use of UF facilities and/or services
- Admission to UF functions and athletic events
Delinquent accounts, including those debts for which the student's records have a financial hold, may require payment by cashier’s check or money order.
Delinquent debts may be placed with a billing agent, reported to a credit bureau and referred to collection agencies without further notice or litigated, at which time additional collection costs will be assessed in accordance with UF-3.0376(20) Regulations of the University of Florida. All payments received are applied to the oldest debt first.
Back to Top